Project Assistants


back

nehaMs. Neha Aswal
Contact me: aswalneha [at] wii [dot] gov [dot] in 

I belong to Uttarakhand known for its natural resources and beauty. My educational qualification include a Master’s degree in Economics from H.N.B Garhwal University. Although, there were subjects like Economic development, Regional economics in my curriculum but my interest was mainly into environmental education. After my Master’s study, I joined in a project management unit of DST-NMSHE Project. My aim is to study educational management and administration and also rural development which will be beneficial for my career. The DST-NMSHE project in Wildlife Institute of India has given me opportunity to fulfill my dreams. As I am working in Climate Change project which is not only a high-end scientific study, but will give me a chance to study Human ecology which will further provide me a path to achieve my futures goals. It’s a pleasure to work with such a great team of NMSHE. My hobby includes singing, reading, listening music and photography.

Anjali Uniyal

 I belong to Dehradun district, Uttarakhand which is renowned for its natural beauty. I have done my bachelors in Medical Microbiology and Masters in Microbiology from HNB garhwal university, Srinagar. At present I am working at WII in DST-NMSHE project in which i am focussing on Molecular Biology and Genetic studies to assess the impact of climatic change on mammals found in Himalayas by studying Predator-Prey relationship and their food habits.

 

Malvika Pandey

I belong to Champawat district, Uttarakhand a place where the infamous man-eater tigress was killed by Jim Corbett. Forests and wildlife fascinated me from childhood and being so close to nature I often used to trek nearby forests to explore wildlife. I have done my Bachelors in Biotechnology from Dolphin Institute of Biological and Natural Sciences, Dehradun and Masters in Forestry from D.S.B. Campus, Nainital, Uttarakhand. During my masters I did internship from an NGO on “Structure and management of Vanpanchayat system in Champawat district” and while doing community survey I encountered various negative interactions between human and wildlife in the villages this experience widened my perspective that to avoid conflicts not only behavioural studies but also genetic patterns need to be understood.

Currently, I am working at WII in DST- NMSHE project and I am basically focusing on application of Molecular Biology and Genetics in assessment of the impact of climate change on mammals found in Himalayas by studying Predator- Prey relationships and their food habits. My other areas of interests include behavioural ecology of Mammals and Human – wildlife conflict.

Anshu Panwar

Anshu PanwarI belong to Baghpat district, Uttar Pardesh. I have always been a nature buff. Since childhood, i am very interested in watching Discovery and National geography channels. By the time, my interest got increased in conservation. I learned my way through school, got education in biological sciences. I further developed that in college (Shree Guru Ram Rai Institute of Technology and Science, Dehradun) where i completed my bachelors and master in biotechnology. I did my dissertation on 'phytochemical screening of ageratum conyzoids' from a herbal company ' Himalaya Drug Company' in 2016. After my master's study, i joined WILDLIFE INSTITUTE OF INDIA in DST_NMSHE project as a project assistant in 2016. With my lab experience and knowledge, i want to focus on molecular genetics to assessment of relevent information concerning an individual risk and provide informational individual who may be effected by global warming and at increases risk of extinction. My future goal is to further research on genetic diversity to understand the effect of climate change on wildlife. I am very thankful to WII which gave me grounded experience and working knowledge of molecular genetics and amongst other things.